Barbara C. Deinhardt Neutral Monitor 917-763-0906 neutralmonitor@gmail.com

November 1, 2024

## **DECISION**

Re: Protest I-21-2024 (Abbass appeal eligibility ruling)

By email to the Election Committee dated October 29, 2024, Abdul Abbass filed an appeal to an October 28, 2024 determination of the Election Committee that he was not eligible to run for Division Chair because he did not attend the requisite number of division/Section meetings. He only attended four meetings. There were ten Division meetings held from September 2023 to September 2024 and an addition four Section meetings. According to Mr. Abbass, he should be credited with the June, 2024 meeting because he requested excusal from the Division Recording-Secretary when he was sick the day of the meeting. Further, he had no notice of the four Section meetings.

For purposes of determining Mr. Abbass's eligibility, it doesn't matter whether there were ten meetings (division only) or 14 (division plus section). Either way, he would need to have attended or gotten credit for five meetings and he only attended four. His eligibility therefore comes down to whether his request for excusal was valid or not. There is no reason to reach the issue of section meetings. Pursuant to the TWU Constitution, if a member misses a meeting, to get credit s/he must file a statement of the reasons for missing the meeting with the Local Recording Secretary. Mr. Abbass requested excusal from the Division Recording Secretary. His request was therefore invalid. He was properly credited with only four meetings and he needed five, even if the section meetings were not counted.

Appeal denied.

In accordance with the International Constitution and the Election Rules, any interested party unsatisfied with this determination may appeal to the Transport Workers Union of America Committee on Appeals. Any appeal shall be in writing and shall be filed in accordance with the procedure set forth in Article IV(B)(9) of the Election Rules and Article XXII of the International Constitution for the appeal to the International from decisions of Local Unions.

Barbara C. Deinhardt Neutral Monitor

Susana Cheinhedt

By email: Ahmad Abbass Arthur Schwartz Denis Engel Elections Committee