Working Women's Committee

IB Image

 

On July 8th, Giselle Martinez was named as Local 100's Working Women's Committee and Family Assistance Coordinator. You can read the announcement here.

Sister Martinez, a seven-year Bus Operator working out of the East New York Depot, was introduced to the membership this past May on Mother's Day at our satellite office on Westchester Avenue in the Bronx.

Your Representatives

Chair -- Giselle Martinez, Bus Operator gmartinez@twulocal100.org

Bus Operator Giselle Martinez – a published author, an active union member, and the former president of a non-profit childcare provider – is the Working Women’s Committee and Family Assistance Coordinator. Read more about her here.

DEPARTMENTAL REPRESENTATIVES

CAR EQUIPMENT DEPARTMENT
Shirley Martin (Departmental Vice President). Email: Smartin@twulocal100.org
Joan Bygrave (Executive Board Member) Email: jbygrave@twulocal100.org

MABSTOA
Harriette Goodridge-Seymour. hgseymour@twulocal100.org
Isabel Camacho icamachotwu@gmail.com
Monique Rondon mrondon@twulocal100.org
Keyanna Davis. kdavis@twulocal100.org

MAINTENANCE OF WAY
Celeste Kirkland favoredcee@gmail.com

RAPID TRANSIT OPERATIONS
Denise Long dlong@twulocal100.org
Christina Innis cinnis@twulocal100.org
Kimberly McLaurin kmclaurin@twulocal100.org
Nivea Luke nluke@twulocal100.org

STATIONS DEPARTMENT
Vanessa Jones vjones@twulocal100.org
Nicolette Brown nbrown@twulocal100.org

TA SURFACE
Shikira Plum Grillet sgrillet@twulocal100.org
Donna Hailey haileynyc24@gmail.com
Rhonda Hopkins rhopkins@twulocal100.org
Georgette Sterling gsterling@twuloca100.org

PRIVATE LINES/MTA BUS/SCHOOL BUS
Awilda Duarte awildaduartea78@gmail.com
Matosha Veney toshav21@yahoo.com

 

There are nearly 7,000 women working in transit in both the bus and subway side of the house, and number that continues to rise. Approximately 18% of the TWU Local 100 membership are women.

Our Next Meeting is September 15: Meet the new Coordinator, Giselle Martinez

It is the mission of the Transport Workers Working Women’s Committee, hereinafter TWU WWC, to provide support and information to all working women and men.  To ensure equal pay for equal work; to empower women to seek leadership positions within their union as well as in their communities; to further the cause of all workers, female and male and to elevate the awareness of working women’s needs both inside and outside the workplace.  The TWU WWC also works to bring a greater awareness of the need for physical and mental wellness and to educate and encourage all women on their path to future leadership.

Who is part of the women’s committee?
Every member in good standing of Local 100.

Is there a fee to join?
No, there is no fee to join.

How can I become involved?
Show up to our meetings or write your concerns to D Brown or your departmental representative. Meetings are at 11AM and 5PM on the second Thursday of every month, except for July and August. They are held at the Union Hall, 195 Montague Street, in downtown Brooklyn.

What departments do you assist with?
All

Are there meeting requirements involved?
No, just come as you are.

When should I contact the women’s committee?

  • If you have exhausted all division/departmental resources
  • If you feel more comfortable speaking with a woman about a matter.
  • If you have new ideas pertaining to women that you would like to bring to the leadership